A Community in Transition

The Municipality of Low is located in the heart of the Gatineau valley about 15 minutes north of Wakefield and barely 40 minutes from Ottawa-Gatineau.

Covering over 250 square kilometers, Low is bordered by the Gatineau River in the east, the municipality of La Pêche in the south, Alleyn & Cawood in the west and Kazabazua and Lac-Sainte Marie in the north.

The village of Low is the nucleus of the municipality and is located near the impressive Paugan Dam, which boasts incredible views of the Gatineau River north and south.

Built at the end of 1920, the dam provides a point of access to 35 kilometres of navigable waters among the picturesque islands and peninsulas of the Gatineau River all the way up to Gracefield and Point Comfort.

The first settlers, primarily of Irish and American heritage, settled here starting in the mid-nineteenth century. In the last 75 years more Francophones moved into the community. The intermingling of the two cultures inspired the logo of the municipality, which represents the harmonious relationship between the two cultures by depicting a shamrock and a fleur de lys intertwined.

The community of Low is in transition as the urban border draws ever nearer. Many residents make the daily commute to Ottawa-Gatineau for work. Reasonable real estate prices, up-to-date infrastructure, excellent quality of life, the proximity of the Gatineau River and the country character of the municipality continues to attract new residents and cottagers.

The citizens of Low, known for their community spirit and generous hearts, welcome numerous visitors each year, whether they come to boat, cycle, eat, attend an activity or visit friends. In developing its tourism, Low hopes to add to its local economy.

Landscapes of Low
The Gatineau River is navigable for more than 35 km upstream of the dam Paugan. The region is also famous for its beautiful autumn landscapes.
The Paugan Station
Located in the Municipality of Low, Paugan station is the largest power utility in the Outaouoais region with a capacity of 206 MW and a fall of 40 meters. It has been built in 1928 and restored in 1956. Picture © Hydro-Québec.
The Siskin Park
Siskin recalled the forest heritage of the municipality, particularly the time of the drive on the Gatineau River. It is also the southern starting point of the Véloroute des Draveurs. Photo © Sogercom.com.